Republic Act 6344 created Camiguin School of Arts and Trades (CSAT) and was formally opened as a Secondary Trade School in June 1979, supported by the Provincial Government. This school was nationalized in 1980.

DECS Order No. 59. S. 1987, authorized the school to open a Two-Year Post Secondary Technical course in Automotive Technology which was implemented during the school year 1990-1991.

June 1993, the Bureau of Technical and Vocational Education Division, DECS, Region X, issued the permit to offer the Two-Year Garment Technology and Two-Year Electrical Technology. The school had turned out graduates in the 3 Technology courses until its conversion into a State College.

February 24, 1995, Republic Act 7923 was approved converting these schools, the Camiguin School of Arts and Trades, the Central Mindanao University, Catarman Campus and Mindanao Polytechnic State College, Balintawak, Mambajao Campus into Camiguin Polytechnic State College (CPSC). The former becomes the main campus.

After a brief transition period, CPSC officially opened its doors to higher education in June 1996.

Today, the programs of the College are implemented by a core of faculty who are, undoubtedly, dedicated to the service, eager to make their contribution to the attainment of CPSC’s goals. However, much of the trade school persective is still very evident and a many of the activities are still directed at satisfying basic education or vocational school objectives. This condition necessitates a delibrate effort to transform perspective of the academic community so that the mission, goals and objectives of the College, as envisioned, can be attained.